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NOTICE OF INTENT TO ACT UPON A REGULATION
Notice of Public Hearing for the Adoption of Regulation Amendments

The Department of Business and Industry, Nevada Financial Institutions Division
Chapters 604A, 649, 658, 669, 671, 673, 675, 676A, 677, and 678 of the
Nevada Administrative Code

The State of Nevada, Financial Institutions Division ("Division”), 2785 E. Desert Inn
Road, Suite 180, Las Vegas, Nevada 89121, (702) 486-4120 is proposing amendments
to Chapters 604A, 649, 658, 669, 671, 673, 675, 676A, 677, and 678 of the Nevada
Administrative Code (NAC), LCB File No. R054-16 dated May 3, 2016. This public
hearing will be conducted subject to the Open Meeting Law (NRS 241 .020) and the
public hearing on the proposed regulation amendments will be held at the following
locations through simultaneous videoconference:

Date: Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Time; 8:30 am.

In Las Vegas:  Grant Sawyer Building
555 E. Washington Avenue
Room 4412
Las Vegas, NV 89101

In Carson City: Nevada State Legislative Building
401 S. Carson St.
Room 2135
Carson City, NV 89701



The purpose of this Public Hearing is to receive final comments from all interested
persons regarding the proposed adoption of regulation amendments to the Nevada
Administrative Code, LCB File No. R054-16 dated May 3, 2016.

The following information is provided pursuant to the requirements of NRS 233B.0603:

1. The need for and the purpose of the proposed regulation amendments. The purpose
of the proposed regulation amendments are:

To establish a reasonable hourly fee to cover only actual costs of the Nevada Financial Institutions
Division (NFID) operations to supervise the industries for which it is statutorily responsible for and not
to exacerbate any additional financial and regulatory burden upon existing small businesses. NFID is
fully funded by assessments and the examination fees from the institutions it requlates and does not
take any of its revenue from the General Fund. NFID only assesses or charges its licensees for the
actual costs of its operations and to maintain the reserves necessary to properly requlate and
supervise the industries for which it is statutorily responsible in a safe and sound manner. As such,
no NFID revenue becomes part of the General Fund. This self-funded operation and budget ensures
the pursuit of excellence in financial institution regulation, examination, and supervision. An hourly
examination fee of §75/hour needs to be adopted in order to equitably balance the Depository
Assessment and the Non-Depository Examination Fees based on utilization of FID resources.

2. The proposed regulation amendments are permanent and a copy of the proposed
regulation amendments can be obtained by contacting:

Office of the Commissioner
Financial Institutions Division
2785 E. Desert Inn Road, Suite 180
Las Vegas, NV 89121
Email: FIDMaster@fid.state.nv.us
Voice: (702) 486-4120

Fax: (702) 486-4563

3. The estimated economic effect of the regulation amendments on small business and
on the public is addressed below:

(a) Both Adverse and Beneficial effects.

(I) ADVERSE EFFECTS:
Published examination fees did exist previously for supervision, examinations,
investigations, audits, and hearings on Depository/Non-Depository Institutions regulated
by NFID, but not at a standardized rate (ranging from $30 to $100/per hour depending on
the specific industry), nor has been updated in some cases for over 20 years. Those
institutions that have the lowest rates (Money Transmitters and Installment Lenders at
$30/hour) will most likely experience the highest impact of all NFID licensed small
businesses in some financial manner or form. The new (Proposed) NFID examination fee
will be changed to $75 per hour for each hour spent by the staff of the Division to conduct
an examination and develop the report of examination.

Majority of the comments received from small business (38/53 or ~ 72%) stated that there
will be no adverse economic impact.



(I1) BENEFICIAL EFFECTS:

Upon consideration of all the comments, the NFID has concluded that the proposed
regulation amendments could result in some economic impact upon small business and
the proposed regulations could possibly affect the formation, operation, or expansion of a
small business seeking to provide these services. Through well thought out and
coordinated examination scheduling and procedures with NFID licensed small businesses,
NFID can directly lessen the impact on small businesses.

It was noted from a few of the regulated industries that the proposed regulatory
amendments would more fairly distribute the cost of the FID to the users of the FID.
Utilization of FID resources (and associated expenditures) has shifted from 50% - 50% to
depositories 25% - non-depositories 75%.

Majority of the comments received from small business (51/53 or ~ 96%) stated that there
will be no beneficial economic impact.

(b) Immediate and long term effects.

(I) IMMEDIATE:
The Nevada Financial Institutions Division (NFID) is fully funded by fees from the
institutions it regulates, and does not receive any of its revenue from the General Fund.
The NFID only assesses or charges its licensees for the actual costs of its operations
and to maintain the reserves necessary to properly regulate and supervise the industries
for which it is statutorily responsible in a safe and sound manner. As such, no NFID
revenue becomes part of the General Fund. This self-funded operation and budget
ensures the pursuit of excellence in financial institution regulation, examination, and
Supervision. An hourly examination fee of $75/hour needs to be adopted because it is
the lowest NFID determined cost based amount possible to cover the time to conduct
examinations and prepare the reports of examination.

This cost based business model is directly responsible for maintaining a financial
Institutions system for Nevada citizens that is safe and sound through consistent and
equitable regulation, examination, supervisory enforcement, and supervision that drives
the economic success of main street Nevada. This business model also protects
Nevada consumers and defends the overall public interest by ensuring financial

institutions comply with laws and regulations.

NFID has made every effort to reach out early and to all institutions it requlates in order
to facilitate a joint effort to establish a reasonable hourly fee to cover only actual costs of
its operations to supervise the industries for which it is statutorily responsible and not to
exacerbate any additional financial and regulatory burden upon existing small

businesses.

(I) LONG TERM:
The proposed regulation amendments could in extreme cases force some small businesses
to terminate their operations.

Majority of the comments received from small business (48/53 or ~ 91%) stated that there
will be no indirect adverse economic impact and there would be insignificant (1/53 or ~2%)
indirect beneficial economic impact. A few small businesses did state a concern that there



are already too many obstacles to starting a new business, doing business in Nevada, and
the increase in exam fees will just add additional burden.

4. The methods used by the Financial Institutions Division in determining the impact

on a small business (pursuant to subsection 3 of NRS 233B.0608) is listed below:

NFID has provided ample opportunity for the public and the regulated industries to provide input
and comments regarding the proposed regulation amendments, including the economic impact
the proposed regulation amendments may have on small business. No modifications to the
proposed regulation amendments have been made as a result of this small business impact. A
workshop will be held on July 8 2016 allowing for further input by licensees and the public
regarding the proposed regulation amendments and how they will impact the regulated industry.
These comments will be taken to consideration for further revisions to the proposed regulation
amendments to reduce the economic impact. NFID has received a total of 80 responses (12%
response rate; 80/664) to the small business impact solicitation sent to licensees and all
interested parties. NFID has considered and analyzed all submitted comments as detailed
above.

5. The estimated cost to the Financial Institutions Division for enforcement of the
proposed regulation amendments is below:

There is no estimated cost to the Financial Institutions Division for enforcement of the proposed
regulation amendments.

6. A description of any regulations of other state or local government agencies which
the proposed regulation amendment overlaps or duplicates and a statement explaining
why the duplication or overlapping is necessary.

To our (NFID) knowledge the proposed regulation amendments do not duplicate any existing
federal, state, or local standards regulating the same activity. There are a total of ten (10) NFID
regulations that will be revised.

7. If the regulation amendments are required pursuant to federal law, a citation and
description of the federal law.
The proposed regulation amendments are not required by federal law.

8. If the regulation amendments include provisions which are more stringent than a
federal regulation that regulates the same activity, a summary of such provisions.

To our (NFID) knowledge the proposed regulation amendments do not include provisions which
are more stringent then federal requlations that regulate the same activity. There are a total of
ten (10) NFID regulations that will be amended.

9. The date, time, and place where, and the manner in which interested persons may
present their views regarding the proposed regulation amendments.

Persons wishing to comment upon the proposed action of the Nevada Financial Institutions
Division may appear and make oral comment at the scheduled public hearing to be held on July
26, 2016 as detailed in this notice, or may address their comments, data, views or arguments,
in written form to the Office of the Commissioner, Financial Institutions Division, 2785 E. Desert
Inn Road, Suite 180, Las Vegas, NV 89121 or Email: FIDMaster@fid.state.nv.us, Voice: (702)
486-4120, Fax: (702) 486-4563.



10. All addresses where the text of the rule may be inspected and copied.
See attached list at the end of this Notice of Public Hearing.

11. Upon adoption of any regulation, the agency, if requested to do so by an interested
person, either before adoption or within 30 days thereafter, shall issue a concise
statement of the principal reasons for and against its adoption, and incorporate therein
its reason for overruling the consideration urged against its adoption.

12. In order to equitably balance the Depository Assessment and the Non-Depository
Examination Fees based on utilization of FID resources, it is being proposed to amend
all applicable regulations to reflect a standardized per hour examination fee of $75.00.
The proposed amendments provide for a reasonable hourly fee to equitably cover only
actual costs of NFID operations. To further facilitate the goal of maintaining fees at the
lowest level possible, NFID has not asked for any additional state funding or staff.

Persons wishing to comment upon the proposed action of the Financial Institutions
Division may appear at the scheduled public hearing or may address their comments,
data, views, or arguments, in written form, to the Financial Institutions Division. Written
submissions must be received by Financial Institutions Division on or before July 19,
2016 (7 Days Prior to Hearing). If no person who is directly affected by the proposed
action appears to request time to make an oral presentation, the Financial
Institutions Division may proceed immediately to act upon any written submission.

A copy of this notice of intent to act upon a regulation and the regulation amendments
to be adopted will be on file at the State Library, 100 Stewart Street, Carson City,
Nevada, for inspection by members of the public during business hours. Additional
copies of this notice and regulation amendments to be adopted will be available at the
Financial Institutions Division, 2785 E. Desert Inn Road, Suite 180, Las Vegas, NV
89121 and at the Northern Nevada Examination Office, 1755 East Plumb Lane, Suite
243, Reno, Nevada 89502. This notice and the text of the proposed regulation
amendments have been submitted to the State of Nevada Register of Administrative
Regulations, which is prepared and published monthly by the Legislative Counsel
Bureau pursuant to NRS 233B.0653, and on the Internet at http://www.leg.state.nv.us.

Copies of this notice of intent to act upon a regulation will be mailed or e-mailed
to all members of the public upon request. A reasonable fee may be charged for
copies if it is deemed necessary.

A copy of the regulation amendments for adoption is also attached to this notice. This
notice has also been e-mailed to all persons on the Division’s mailing list for notice of
proposed rulemaking, posted on the Division’s web site at http://www.fid.nv.gov, posted
on the State’s Official Website, and posted at the following public locations for
inspection by members of the public:




Attn: Public Posting
Churchill County Library
553 S. Maine Street
Fallon, NV 89406

Attn: Public Posting

Las Vegas — Clark County Library
833 Las Vegas Blvd. N.

Las Vegas, NV 89101

Attn: Public Posting

Goldfield Public Library

P.O. Box 430; (Fourth & Crook Sts.)
Goldfield, NV 89013

Attn: Public Posting

Eureka Branch Library

P.O. Box 293 (80 South Monroe)
Eureka, NV 89316

Attn: Public Posting
Humboldt County Library
85 East 5th St.
Winnemucca, NV 89445

Attn: Public Posting
Lincoln County Library

63 Main St. / P.O. Box 330
Pioche, NV 89043

Department of Business & Industry
Las Vegas Director’s Office

555 E. Washington Avenue

Suite 4900

Las Vegas, NV 89101

Office of the Commissioner
2785 E. Desert Inn Rd.
Suite 180

Las Vegas, Nevada 89121

Attn: Public Posting
Tonopah Public Library
P.O. Box 449
Tonopah, NV 89049
(167 Central Street)

Attn: Public Posting

Pershing County Library

P.O. Box 781; (1125 Central Avenue)
Lovelock, NV 89419

Attn: Public Posting

Washoe County Library

P.O. Box 2151; (301 S. Center)
Reno, NV 89501

Attn: Public Posting
White Pine County Library
950 Campton St.

Ely, NV 89301

Attn: Public Posting

Battle Mountain Branch Library (Lander
County)

625 South Broad Street

P.O. Box 141

Battle Mountain, NV 89820

Attn: Public Posting
Carson City Library
900 N. Roop Street
Carson City, NV 89701

Department of Business & Industry
Carson City Director’s Office

1830 College Parkway,

Suite 100

Carson City, NV 89706

Northern Nevada Examination Office
1755 East Plumb Lane

Suite 243

Reno, Nevada 89502



STATE OF NEVADA

BRIAN DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY BRUCE BRESLOW
SANDOVAL Director
Govemor
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS DIVISION CEORGE E BURNS
Commissioner

DATE: June 23, 2016
TO: Whom It May Concern:

FROM: Leonard J. Esterly Jr.
Deputy Commissioner

SUBJECT: Notice of Intent to Adopt Regulation Amendments -- Notice for the Hearing
of the Adoption of Regulation Amendments to Chapters 604A, 649, 658, 669, 671, 673,
675, 676A, 677, and 678 of the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC), LCB File No. R054-
16 dated May 3, 2016.

The proposed regulation amendments included in this memorandum are being
proposed for permanent adoption. In order to review the regulations and solicit
comments from interested persons, a public hearing will be held at 8:30 a.m. on July 26,
2016, at the Grant Sawyer Office Building in Room 4412, 555 Washington Avenue, Las
Vegas, Nevada and by video conference at the Nevada State Legislative Building in
Room 2135, 401 S Carson St, Carson City, Nevada.



NOTICE OF INTENT TO ADOPT REGULATION AMENDMENTS
NOTICE FOR THE HEARING OF ADOPTION OF REGULATION AMENDMENTS

COMMISSIONER OF THE FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
CHAPTERS OF THE NEVADA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 604A, 649, 658, 669, 671,
673, 675, 676A, 677, and 678

(LCB FILE NO. R054-16, dated MAY 3, 2016)

June 23, 2016

The State of Nevada, Financial Institutions Division (“Division”), 2785 E. Desert Inn
Road, Suite 180, Las Vegas, Nevada 89121, (702) 486-4120 intents to solicit comments
on the proposed regulation amendments revising the hourly fees paid by banks and
other financial institutions to the Commissioner of Financial Institutions; revising the
method of calculation of an annual fee collected by the Commissioner from certain
depository institutions; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

This meeting will be conducted subject to the Open Meeting Law (NRS 241.020) and
the purpose is to solicit comments from interested persons on the regulation
amendments to be held at the following locations through simultaneous
videoconference:

Date: Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Time: 8:30 am.

In Las Vegas:  Grant Sawyer Building
555 E. Washington Avenue
Room 4412
Las Vegas, NV 89101

In Carson City: Nevada State Legislative Building
401 S. Carson St.
Room 2135
Carson City, NV 89701



ACCOMMODATIONS FOR PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED: Reasonable efforts will be
made to assist and accommodate physically handicapped persons desiring to attend
the meeting. Members of the public who are disabled and require special assistance or
accommodations at the public hearing must notify Leonard Esterly, Deputy
Commissioner, at the Division in writing at 2785 E. Desert Inn Road, Suite 180, Las
Vegas, Nevada 89121, no later than 5 working days prior to the public hearing. Any
questions should be directed to Leonard Esterly, Deputy Commissioner, at (702) 486-
4120.

AGENDA: Below is an agenda of all items scheduled to be considered. Unless
otherwise stated, items may be taken out of the order presented on the agenda at the
discretion of the Financial Institutions Division Commissioner. ltems may also be
combined for consideration or pulled or removed from the agenda at any time. Persons
who may be subject to the provisions of the new law regarding private professional
guardians should attend. Public comment may be limited to two (2) minutes per person
at the discretion of the Commissioner. The Commissioner may only take action on those
items denoted as action items.

1. PUBLIC COMMENTS: Members of the public are encouraged to address the
Commissioner regarding any matter. Persons who desire to submit written testimony
should submit ten (10) copies to the Deputy Commissioner. Public comment may be
limited to two minutes at the public hearing per person at the discretion of the
Commissioner.

2. REVIEW LCB APPROVED TEXT OF THE PROPOSED REGULATION REVISIONS
(LCB FILE NO. R054-16, DATED MAY 3, 2016):

A. Section 3: NAC 658.010 is hereby amended to read as follows:

1. On or before June 30 of each year, the Commissioner of Financial Institutions
will collect a fee from each bank for the supervision and examination of the bank
pursuant to chapters 657 to 668, inclusive, of NRS.

2. The fee is based on the portion of the annual [apprepriation-from-the-State
General-Fund-to] budget approved by the Legislature for expenses related to

the operations of the Commissioner and the Division of Financial Institutions [that
is-attributable io-the supervision and examination of banks | minus all other
revenues collected by the Division, not including reserves. Each bank shall pay
a share of that amount as determined by the following schedule:



Total Assets Base Fee + Fee Exceeding Base

Less than $5,000 N/A
$5,000,000
$5,000,000 or $5,000 $.25 per thousand
more, but less t.an of assets exceeding
$10,000,000 $5,000,000
$10,000,000 or $6,250 $.19 per thousand
more, but less than of assets exceeding
$50,000,000 $10,000,000
$50,000,000 or $13,850 $.12 per thousand
more, but less than of assets exceeding
$100,000,000 $50,000,000
$100,000,000 or $19,850 $.10 per thousand
more, but less than of assets exceeding
$500,000,000 $100,000,000
$500,000,000 or $59,850 $.07 per thousand
more, but less than of assets exceeding
$1,000,000,000 $500,000,000
$1,000,000,000 or $94,850 $.05 per thousand
more, but less than of assets exceeding
$3,000,000,000 $1,000,000,000
$3,000,000,000 or $194,850 $.03 per thousand
more, but less than of assets exceeding
$10,000,000,000 $3,000,000,000
$10,000,000,000 $404,850 $.02 per thousand
or more, but less of assets exceeding
than $10,000,000,000
$20,000,000,000
$20,000,000,000 $604,850 $.01 per thousand
or more of assets
exceeding
$20,000,000,000

ala alan -l = SN O

Any adjustment to the fee [required-
of orincreases. i ann on-fro State G 3 | must be
made in a proportionate amount that is based on the relationship that the fee
determined for each bank tpursuant-to-paragraph<{a)] bears to the total fee imposed
on all banks licensed pursuant to chapters 657 to 668, inclusive, of NRS. The fee is
calculated as of June 1 of each year based upon the number of banks and the
total assets of each bank as of December 31 of the previous year.



3. If the fee is not paid on or before June 30, the Commissioner will assess a penalty
of 10 percent of the amount of the fee and an additional 1 percent of the fee for each
month or portion of a month that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive
the penalty for good cause.

4. The fee does not include the cost of any extraordinary examination, audit,
investigation or hearing conducted by the Division. The cost of any such
examination, audit, investigation or hearing is [$60] $75 per hour.

B. Section 1: NAC 604A.090 is hereby amended to read as follows:

1. The nonrefundable application fee required pursuant to NRS 604A.600 is
$400 plus $100 for each additional license for a branch location at which the
applicant proposes to operate under the applicant’s license.

2. The additional application fee required pursuant to NRS 604A.600 is $375 plus
$75 for each additional license for a branch location at which the applicant proposes
to operate under his or her license. The Commissioner may refund the fee on a
prorated basis if:

(a) An applicant withdraws his or her application before the Commissioner acts on
the application;

(b) The Commissioner deems an application to be withdrawn because the applicant
fails to submit all information and fees required to complete the application within the
period set forth in NRS 604A.600; or

(c) A licensee surrenders his or her license pursuant to NRS 604A.840 during the
licensee’s first year of licensure.

3. The fee to renew a license required pursuant to NRS 604A.640 is $375 plus $75
for each branch location at which the licensee is authorized to operate under the
license.

4. The fee for reinstatement of an expired license as set forth in NRS 604A.640 is
$150 plus $50 for each branch location at which the licensee is authorized to
operate under the license.

5. The hourly fee authorized in NRS 604A.740 for supervision, audit, examination,
investigation or hearing is [$60] $75.

6. The late fee for each day a licensee fails to submit a report required pursuant to
the provisions of chapter 604A of NRS, as set forth in NRS 604A.760, is $10.

7. The Commissioner shall bill each licensee for any fee or assessment imposed
pursuant to the provisions of this chapter and chapter 604A of NRS. The licensee
shall pay the fee within 30 days after the date the licensee receives the bill. Except
as otherwise provided in this subsection, any payment received after the date due



must include a penalty of 10 percent of the fee, plus an additional 1 percent of the
fee for each month, or portion of a month, that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner

may waive the penalty for good cause.

C. Section 2: NAC 649.060 is hereby amended to read as follows:

1. The Commissioner of Financial Institutions will charge and collect a fee of
[$60] $75 per hour from each collection agency for any supervision, examination,
audit, investigation or hearing conducted pursuant to chapter 649 of NRS.

2. The Commissioner will bill each collection agency upon the completion of the
activity for the fee established in subsection 1. The fee must be paid within 30 days
after the date on which the bill is received. In addition to any other fee allowed by
this chapter or chapter 649 of NRS, and except as otherwise provided in this
subsection, any payment received after that date must include a penalty of 10
percent of the fee plus an additional 1 percent of the fee for each month, or portion
of a month, that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty for
good cause.

3. Failure of a collection agency to pay the fee required in subsection 1 as provided
in this section constitutes grounds for revocation of its license.

D. Section 4: NAC 669.010 is hereby amended to read as follows:

1. The Commissioner of Financial Institutions will charge and collect a fee of [$66]
$75 per hour from each trust company for any supervision, examination, audit,
investigation or hearing conducted pursuant to chapter 669 of NRS.

2. The Commissioner will bill each trust company upon the completion of the activity
for the fee established in subsection 1. The fee must be paid within 30 days after the
date the bill is received. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, any
payment received after that date must include a penalty of 10 percent of the fee plus
an additional 1 percent of the fee for each month, or portion of a month, that the fee
is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty for good cause.

3. Failure of a trust company to pay the fee required in subsection 1 as provided in
this section constitutes grounds for revocation of its license.

E. Section 5: NAC 671.010 is hereby amended to read as follows:

1. The Commissioner will charge and collect a fee of [$36] $75 per hour from

each licensee for any supervision, examination, audit, investigation or hearing

conducted pursuant to chapter 671 of NRS.

2. The Commissioner will bill each licensee upon the completion of the activity for
the fee established in subsection 1. The fee must be paid within 30 days after the



date the bill is received. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, any
payment received after that date must include a penalty of 10 percent of the fee plus
an additional 1 percent of the fee for each month, or portion of a month, that the fee
is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty for good cause.

3. Failure of a licensee to pay the fee required in subsection 1 as provided in this
section constitutes grounds for revocation of its license.

F. Section 6: NAC 673.020 is hereby amended to read as follows:

1. On or before June 30 of each year, the Commissioner of Financial Institutions will
collect a fee from each savings and loan association for the supervision and
examination of the savings and loan association pursuant to chapter 673 of NRS.

2. The fee is based on the portion of the annual [apprepriation-from-the-State
General-Fund-to] budget approved by the Legislature for expenses related to

rhe operations of the Comm;sssoner and the D|V|S|on of Financial Instltutlons [that

minus all other revenues coﬂected by the Division, not mc!udmg reserves.
Each savings and loan association shall pay a share of that amount as determined
by the following schedule:

Total Assets Base Fee + Fee Exceeding Base
Less than $5,000 N/A

$5,000,000

$5,000,000 or $5,000 $.25 per thousand of
more, but less than assets exceeding
$10,000,000 $5,000,000
$10,000,000 or $6,250 $.19 per thousand of
more, but less than assets exceeding
$50,000,000 $10,000,000
$50,000,000 or $13,850 $.12 per thousand of
more, but less than assets exceeding
$100,000,000 $50,000,000
$100,000,000 or $19,850 $.10 per thousand of
more, but less than assets exceeding
$500,000,000 $100,000,000

$500,000,000 or $59,850 $.07 per thousand of



Total Assets Base Fee + Fee Exceeding Base

more, but less than assets exceeding
$1,000,000,000 $500,000,000
$1,000,000,000 or $94,850 $.05 per thousand of
more, but less than assets exceeding
$3,000,000,000 $1,000,000,000
$3,000,000,000 or $194,850 $.03 per thousand of
more, but less than assets exceeding
$10,000,000,000 $3,000,000,000
$10,000,000,000 $404,850 $.02 per thousand of
or more, but less assets exceeding
than $10,000,000,000
$20,000,000,000
$20,000,000,000 $604,850 $.01 per thousand
or more of assets
exceeding
$20,000,000,000

Any adjustment to the fee [EGW@Q%&GG@&H*—@HH&@FS%HEH%R—GFHHHSQG—B@FH@HS

made ina proportaonate amount that is based on the relatlonshlp that the fee
determined for each savings and loan association [pursuantto-paragraph{a)] bears
to the total fee imposed on all savings and loan associations licensed pursuant to
chapter 673 of NRS. The fee is calculated as of June 1 of each year based upon
the number of savings and loan associations and the total assets of each
savings and loan association as of December 31 of the previous year.

3. If the fee is not paid on or before June 30, the Commissioner will assess a penalty
of 10 percent of the amount of the fee and an additional 1 percent of the fee for each
month or portion of a month that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive
the penalty for good cause.

4. The fee does not include the cost of any extraordinary examination, audit,
investigation or hearing conducted by the Division. The cost of any such
examination, audit, investigation or hearing is [$66} $75 per hour.



G. Section 7: NAC 675.080 is hereby amended to read as follows:

1. The Commissioner of Financial Institutions will charge and collect a fee of
[$30] $75 per hour from each installment loan company for any supervision,
examination, audit, investigation or hearing conducted pursuant to chapter 675 of
NRS.

2. The Commissioner will bill each installment loan company upon the completion of
the activity for the fee established in subsection 1. The fee must be paid within 30
days after the date the bill is received. Except as otherwise provided in this
subsection, any payment received after that date must include a penalty of 10
percent of the fee plus an additional 1 percent of the fee for each month, or portion
of a month, that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty for
good cause.

3. Failure of an installment loan company to pay the fee required by subsection 1 as
provided in this section constitutes grounds for revocation of its license.

H. Section 8: NAC 676A.260 is hereby amended to read as follows:

1. The Commissioner will charge and collect a fee of {100} $75 per hour from each
registered provider for any examination, audit, investigation or hearing of the
registered provider conducted pursuant to chapter 676A of NRS.

2. The Commissioner will bill each registered provider upon the completion of the
activity for the fee established in subsection 1. The fee must be paid within 30 days
after the date the bill is received. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection,
any payment recei2d after that date must include a penalty of 10 percent of the fee
plus an additional 10 percent of the fee for each month, or portion of a month, that
the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty for good cause.

3. Failure of a registered provider to pay the fee required in subsection 1 as provided
in this section constitutes grounds for revocation of the registration of the provider.

I. Section 9: NAC 677.310 is hereby amended to read as follows:

1. On or before June 30 of each year, the Commissioner of Financial Institutions
will collect a fee from each thrift company for the supervision and examination of the
thrift company pursuant to chapter 677 of NRS.

2. The fee is based on the portion of the annual [appropriationfrom-the-State
GeneralFund-to] budget approved by the Legislature for expenses related to
the operat:ons of the Commrss.'oner and the DNlSlon of FlnanCIa! Institutions [that
H-con -] minus all
other revenues coﬂected by the Drws:on, not mciudmg reserves. Each thrift
company shall pay a share of that amount as determined by the following schedule:




Total Assets

Less than
$5,000,000

$5,000,000 or
more, but
less than
$10,000,000

$10,000,000 or
more, but less than
$50,000,000

$50,000,000 or
more, but less than
$100,000,000

$100,000,000 or
more, but less than
$500,000,000

$500,000,000 or
more, but less than
$1,000,000,000

$1,000,000,000 or
more, but less than
$3,000,000,000

$3,000,000,000 or
More, but less than
$10,000,000,000

$10,000,000,000 or
More, but less than
$20,000,000,000

$20,000,000,000 or
more

Base Fee

$5,000

$5,000

$6,250

$13,850

$19,850

$59,850

$94,850

$194,850

$404,850

$604,850

+ Fee Exceeding Base

N/A

$.25 per thousand of
assets exceeding
$5,000,000

0.19 per thousand of
assets exceeding
$10,000,000

$.12 per thousand of
assets exceeding
$50,000,000

$.10 per thousand of
assets exceeding
$100,000,000

$.07 per thousand of
assets exceeding
$500,000,000

$.05 per thousand of
assets exceeding
$1,000,000,000

$.03 per thousand of
assets exceeding
$3,000,000,000

$.02 per thousand of
assets exceeding
$10,000,000,000

$.01 per thousand of
assets exceeding
$20,000,000,000



Any adjustment to the fee [Feq&med%jaeeeunﬁepthe—mwbwepre#uﬂ%ed—whene

made ina proportlonate amount that is based on the relatlonshlp that the fee

determined for each thrift company [pursuant-to-paragraph-{a}] bears to the total fee
imposed on all thrift companies licensed pursuant to chapters 677 of NRS. The fee

is calculated as of June 1 of each year based upon the number of thrift
companies and the total assets of each thrift company as of December 31 of
the previous year.

3. If the fee is not paid on or before June 30, the Commissioner will assess a penalty
of 10 percent of the amount of the fee and an additional 1 percent of the fee for each
month or portion of a month that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive
the penalty for good cause.

4. The fee does not include the cost of any extraordinary examination, audit,
investigation or hearing conducted by the Division. The cost of any such
examination, audit, investigation or hearing is [$60} $75 per hour.

J. Section 10: NAC 678.150 is hereby amended to read as follows:

1. On or before June 30 of each year, the Commissioner will collect a fee from
each credit union for the supervision and examination of the credit union pursuant to
chapter 678 of NRS.

2. The fee is based on the portion of the annual [apprepriationfrom-the-State
General-Fund-te] budget approved by the Legislature for expenses related to
the Operatfons of the Comm:ss:oner and the Division of E rnanc;al Institutions [that

s : -] minus all other
revenues collected by the D:ws:on not mc!udmg reserves. Each credit union
shall pay a share of that amount as determined by the following schedule:

Total Assets Base Fee + Fee Exceeding Base
Less than $5,000,000 $5,000 N/A
$5,000,000 or more, $5,000 $.25 per thousand of
but less than assets exceeding
$10,000,000 $5,000,000
$10,000,000 or more, $6,250 $.19 per thousand of
but less than assets exceeding

$50,000,000 $10,000,000



Total Assets Base Fee + Fee Exceeding Base

$50,000,000 or more, $13,850 $.12 per thousand of
but less than assets exceeding
$100,000,000 $50,000,000
$100,000,000 or $19,850 $.10 per thousand of
more, but assets exceeding
less than $100,000,000
$500,000,000

$500,000,000 or $59,850 $.07 per thousand of
more, but “assets exceeding
less than $500,000,000

$1,000,000,000

$1,000,000,000 or $94 850 $.05 per thousand of
more,but less than assets exceeding
$3,000,000,000 $1,000,000,000
$3,000,000,000 or $194,850 $.03 per thousand of
more,but less than assets exceeding
$10,000,000,000 $3,000,000,000
$10,000,000,000 or $404,850 $.02 per thousand of
more, but less than assets exceeding
$20,000,000 $10,000,000,000
$20,000,000,000 or $604,850 $.01 per thousand of
more assets exceeding
$20,000,000,000

Any adjustment to the fee [@qawed—teaeeounﬁepth&dﬁmbunene#uﬁaseépemens

made ina proportlonate amount that is based on the relaﬂonshnp that the fee
determined for each credit union {pursuant-tec-paragraph{a)] bears to the total fee
imposed on all credit unions licensed pursuant to chapters 678 of NRS. The fee is
calculated as of June 1 of each year based upon the number of credit unions
and the total assets of each credit union as of December 31 of the previous
year.

3. If the fee is not paid on or before June 30, the Commissioner will assess a penalty
of 10 percent of the amount of the fee and an additional 1 percent of the fee for each
month or portion of a month that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive
the penalty for good cause.



4. The fee does not include the cost of any extraordinary examination, audit,
investigation or hearing conducted by the Division. The cost of any such
examination, audit, investigation or hearing is [$60] $75 per hour.

3. PUBLIC COMMENTS: Members of the public are encouraged to address the
Commissioner regarding any matter. Persons who desire to submit written testimony
should submit ten (10) copies to the Deputy Commissioner. Public comment may be
limited to two minutes at the public hearing per person at the discretion of the
Commissioner.

4. ADJOURNMENT

A copy of the regulations submitted for adoption is attached to this notice and will also
be available prior to the hearing on the Internet at: http://www.fid.nv.qov. Copies of this
notice and/or the regulations will be e-mailed and/or US Mailed to members of the
public upon request. A reasonable fee may be charged for copies if it is deemed
necessary.

This notice has been e-mailed to all persons on the Division’s mailing list for notice of
proposed rulemaking, posted on the Division’s web site at http://www.fid.nv.gov, posted
on the State’'s Official Website, and posted at the following public locations for
inspection by members of the public:

Attn: Public Posting
Churchill County Library
553 S. Maine Street
Fallon, NV 89406

Attn: Public Posting

Las Vegas — Clark County Library
833 Las Vegas Blvd. N.

Las Vegas, NV 89101

Attn: Public Posting
Elko County Library
720 Court Street
Elko, NV 89801

Attn: Public Posting
Goldfield Public Library

P.O. Box 430; (Fourth & Crook Sts.)

Goldfield, NV 89013

Attn: Public Posting
Tonopah Public Library
P.O. Box 449
Tonopah, NV 89049
(167 Central Street)

Attn: Public Posting

Pershing County Library

P.O. Box 781; (1125 Central Avenue)
Lovelock, NV 89419

Attn: Public Posting

Storey County Library

P.O. Box 14; (95 South R Street)
Virginia City, NV 89440

Attn: Public Posting

Washoe County Library

P.O. Box 2151; (301 S. Center)
Reno, NV 89501



Attn: Public Posting

Eureka Branch Library

P.O. Box 293 (80 South Monroe)
Eureka, NV 89316

Attn: Public Posting
Humboldt County Library
85 East 5th St.
Winnemucca, NV 89445

Attn: Public Posting
Lincoln County Library

63 Main St. / P.O. Box 330
Pioche, NV 89043

Department of Business & Industry
Las Vegas Director’s Office

555 E. Washington Avenue

Suite 4900

Las Vegas, NV 89101

Office of the Commissioner
2785 E. Desert Inn Rd.
Suite 180

Las Vegas, Nevada 89121

Attn: Public Posting
White Pine County Library
950 Campton St.

Ely, NV 89301

Attn: Public Posting

Battle Mountain Branch Library (Lander
County)

625 South Broad Street

P.O. Box 141

Battle Mountain, NV 89820

Attn: Public Posting
Carson City Library
900 N. Roop Street
Carson City, NV 89701

Department of Business & Industry
Carson City Director's Office

1830 College Parkway,

Suite 100

Carson City, NV 89706

Northern Nevada Examination Office
1755 East Plumb Lane

Suite 243

Reno, Nevada 89502
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SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO NAC 604A, 649, 658, 669, 671, 673, 675, 676A, 677, AND NAC 678

14 JUNE 2016

1. Small Business Impact (SBI) Statement pursuant to NRS 233B.0609:
(a) A description of the manner in which comment was solicited from affected small businesses, a summary of

their responses, and an explanation of the manner in which other interested persons may obtain a copy of the
summary.

() Solicitation of affected small businesses.

NRS 233B.0382 defines a small business as a business conducted for profit which employs fewer than 150 full-time
or part-time employees.

The Nevada Financial Institutions Division (NFID) sought comments in accordance with NRS 233B.0608 for the
purpose of considering whether as a result of the proposed regulation amendments, there may be a direct and
significant economic burden upon small business or if the regulation amendments will directly restrict the
formation, operation or expansion of a small business seeking to those engaged in or who desire to engage in a
business licensed, and regulated by NFID. As required by NRS 233B.0608, this statement identifies the methods
used by NFID in determining the impact of the proposed regulation amendments on small business and provides
reasons for the conclusions of NFID followed by the certification by the Commissioner of the Nevada Financial
Institutions Division.

NFID established the contact list from the existing NFID licensee database and solicited comments on the
proposed regulations by e-mailing the notice and questionnaire to all known licensee e-mail addresses present in
the database (approximately 664) as of May 20, 2016, as well as the established regulation notification list.
Additionally, a copy of the full text of the proposed regulation amendments and questionnaire was posted to the
Division website. The questions on the questionnaire were:

How many employees are currently employed by your business?

Will any of the proposed regulatory language have an adverse economic effect upon your business?
Will any of the proposed regulatory language have a beneficial economic effect on your business?
Do you anticipate any indirect adverse effects on your business?

Do you anticipate any indirect beneficial effects on your business?

Please list any suggestions/general comments pertaining to the proposed regulatory language.

S N



(1) Summary of responses. (Detailed individual small business licensee response spreadsheets and the combined

response spreadsheet are available upon request by contacting the Division)

Summary of All Small Business Licensee Comments Received

Total number of 80 responses received from the 664 SBI Questionnaires distributed by E-mail (~12.0 % )*

Will any of the proposed
regulatory language have a
Adverse Economic Effect
(Question 2)
upon your small business**?

Will any of the proposed
regulatory language have a
Beneficial Economic Effect

Do you anticipate any
Indirect Adverse Effects

(Question 3)
upon your small business**?

(Question 4)
on your small business**?

Do you anticipate any

Indirect Beneficial Effects

(Question 5)
on your small business**?

YES — 15 (28%)

YES - 2 (4%)
NO - 51 (96%)

YES - 5 (9%)
NO - 48 (91%)

YES -1 (2%)
NO - 52 (98%)

NO - 38 (72%)

* Total Number of responses also includes businesses that employ more than 150 employees. There were a total
of 27 responses from these companies which accounts for approximately 4.1% (27/664) of all the businesses

contacted.

** Small Business is defined as a business conducted for profit which employs fewer than 150 full-time or part-time

employees (NRS 233B.0382).

Small Business Licensee Type & Summary of Comments

Small Business (SB) Licensee Type #ofSB| Adverse Beneficial Indirect Indirect

(Employs Less than 150 FT/PT Employees per NRS 233B.0382) Replies | Economic Economic Adverse Beneficial

Effect Effect Effect Effect

(Question 2) | (Question 3) |(Question 4) | (Question 5)
604A =2 Deferred Deposit/Hi-Interest/Title Loans/Check Cashing 12 4 (33%) 0 (0%) 2 (17%) 0 (0%)
649 -2 Collection Agency/Foreign Collection Agency 32 7 (22%) 1(3%) 2 (6%) 0 (0%)
658 > Bonks 3 1(33%) a (0%) a(a%] a (0%)

669 > Trust Companies 4 2 (50%) 1(25%) 1(25%) 1(25%)
671 > Issuer of Instruments for Transmission & Payment of Money 1 1(100%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%)
673 2 Savings & Loan Association 0 0 (0%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%)
675 > Installment Loans 1 0 (0%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%)
676A =2 Debt Management Services 0 0(0%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%)
677 = Thrift Companies 0 0 (0%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%)
678 > Credit Unions 0 0 (0%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%) 0 (0%)
Total Numbers 53 15 (28.3%) 2 (3.7%) 5 (9.4%) 1(1.8%)




(1) Obtain a copy of the summary.
This Small Business Impact (SBI) Statement was posted on the NFID website dated June 15, 2016 along with a

Notice of Workshop for July 8, 2016. Interested persons may also obtain a copy of the Small Business Impact
Statement by contacting the:

Office of the Commissioner
Financial Institutions Division
2785 E. Desert Inn Road, Suite 180
Las Vegas, NV 89121
Email: FIDMaster@fid.state.nv.us
Voice: (702) 486-4120
Fax: (702) 486-4563

Website: http://fid.state.nv.us

(b) The manner in which the analysis was conducted.

With the decline in the number of Nevada state chartered depository institutions (banks, credit unions, thrifts) from
closures and charter consolidations as a result of the financial crisis, and the massive increase in non-depository
licensees (trust companies, payday lenders, collection agencies, money transmitters, etc.), the utilization of FID
resources (and associated expenditures) has shifted from 50% - 50% to depositories 25% - non-depositories 75%.

In order to establish a more equitable balance between the assessment fees paid by depositories and the exam fees
paid by non-depositories, an extensive analysis was conducted by the FID. It has been determined that to accomplish
an equitable resource utilization based on a balance between depository assessment fees and non-depository
examination fees, the per hour rate for non-depository examinations must increase to a minimum of $75 (FID study
yielded the hourly rate should actually be ~ $83/hour). This will result in exam fee increases of approximately 25%
($60 to $75) for most non-depository licensee types that have not had an exam rate increase in the last 10 years, and
150% ($30 to $75) for two (2) non-depository licensee types that have not had an exam rate increase in the last 20
years.

NFID sent a copy of the draft regulation amendments and a SBI Questionnaire to all known affected licensees and
interested parties, and as part of the process to garner the most current information from the licensees invited
written comment regarding the impact to all affected small businesses (Depository and Non-Depository). NFID took
all comments submitted from all sources to include licensees and any/all interested parties into consideration.

NRS 658.101 states criteria relating to the rates that can be charged by the Commissioner for supervision and
examination in items 1 and 2 below. Item 3 shows the FID internal analysis to arrive at the proposed hourly exam fee.

1. The Commissioner shall establish by regulation rates to be paid by banks and other financial institutions
for supervision and examinations by the Commissioner or the Division of Financial Institutions.

2. In establishing a rate pursuant to subsection 1 (above), the Commissioner shall consider:
(a) The complexity of the various examinations to which the rate applies;
(b) The skill required to conduct the examinations;
(c) The expenses associated with conducting the examination and preparing a report; and
(d) Any other factors the Commissioner deems relevant.

3. The equitable amount of the Depository Assessment and the Non-Depository Examination Fee was determined by
the proportional utilization of FID resources relative to the Division’s annual expenditure budget approved by the
Legislature. An analysis for that determination based on FY 2016 data is detailed below:



LICENSEE TYPE TOTAL FTE EXAM HOURS % OF TOTAL EXAM HRS
Depository Institutions 9,829 28.5% ]
Non-Depository Companiés 2:1,539 ' : 71.5%

TOTALS ' 34,368 100%

EXAMINATION FEE PER HOUR CALCULATION

FID Approved Expenditure Budget FY17 (2016) $6,426,744
- Reserves 52,761,195
- Other Revenue (Application Fees, Renewal Fees, etc.) $538,632
- AG Assessment (Assessed Separately by Statute) $285,661
Net FID Approved Expenditures 52,841,256

Per Hour Exam Fee (Net FID Approved Expenditures / Total FTE Exam Hours) I 5$82.67

The proposed regulation amendments also revise existing regulations pursuant to Assembly Bill No. 493 of the 2003
Legislative Session; NFID generally began operating as a self-funding Division rather than pursuant to appropriations
from the State General Fund (Chapter 491, Statutes of Nevada 2003, at page 3225; NRS 658.091, 658.098). Sections
3, 6, 9 and 10 of the proposed amendments revise existing regulations to:

1. Comport with that statutory cnange;

2. Revise the method of calculation of the annual fee for supervision and examinations collected by the
Commissioner from banks, savings and loan associations, thrift companies and credit unions; and

3. Prescribe the base amount and any amount exceeding that base amount for a bank, savings and loan
association, thrift company or credit union whose total assets are $20 billion or more.

(c) The estimated economic effect of the proposed regulation on the small businesses which it is to regulate
including, without limitation:

(1) Both Adverse and Beneficial effects:

(1) ADVERSE EFFECTS:

Published examination fees did exist previously for supervision, examinations, investigations, audits, and
hearings on Depository/Non-Depository Institutions regulated by NFID, but not at a standardized rate (ranging
from $30 to $100/per hour depending on the specific industry), nor has been updated in some cases for over
20 years. Those institutions that have the lowest rates (Money Transmitters and Installment Lenders at
$30/hour) will most likely experience the highest impact of all NFID licensed small businesses in some financial
manner or form. The new (Proposed) NFID examination fee will be changed to $75 per hour for each hour
spent by the staff of the Division to conduct an examination and develop the report of examination.

Majority of the comments received from small business (38/53 or ~ 72%) stated that there will be no adverse
economic impact.

(Il) BENEFICIAL EFFECTS:

Upon consideration of all the comments, the NFID has concluded that the proposed regulations could result in
some economic impact upon small business and the proposed regulations could possibly affect the formation,
operation, or expansion of a small business seeking to provide these services. Through well thought out and
coordinated examination scheduling and procedures with NFID licensed small businesses, NFID can directly
lessen the impact on small businesses.



It was noted from a few of the regulated industries that the proposed regulatory amendments would more
fairly distribute the cost of the FID to the users of the FID. Utilization of FID resources (and associated
expenditures) has shifted from 50% - 50% to depositories 25% - non-depositories 75%.

Majority of the comments received from small business (51/53 or ~ 96%) stated that there will be no beneficial
economic impact.

(2) Both Direct and Indirect effects:

(1) DIRECT EFFECTS:

The Nevada Financial Institutions Division (NFID) is fully funded by fees from the institutions it regulates, and
does not receive any of its revenue from the General Fund. The NFID only assesses or charges its licensees for
the actual costs of its operations and to maintain the reserves necessary to properly regulate and supervise the
industries for which it is statutorily responsible in a safe and sound manner. As such, no NFID revenue becomes
part of the General Fund. This self-funded operation and budget ensures the pursuit of excellence in financial
institution regulation, examination, and supervision. An hourly examination fee of $75/hour needs to be
adopted because it is the lowest NFID determined cost based amount possible to cover the time to conduct
examinations and prepare the reports of examination.

This cost based business model is directly responsible for maintaining a financial institutions system for Nevada
citizens that is safe and sound through consistent and equitable regulation, examination, supervisory
enforcement, and supervision that drives the economic success of main street Nevada. This business model
also protects Nevada consumers and defends the overall public interest by ensuring financial institutions
comply with laws and regulations.

NFID has made every effort to reach out early and to all institutions it regulates in order to facilitate a joint
effort to establish a reasonable hourly fee to cover only actual costs of its operations to supervise the
industries for which it is statutorily responsible and not to exacerbate any additional financial and regulatory
burden upon existing small businesses.

(I1) INDIRECT EFFECTS:
The proposed regulation amendments could in extreme cases force some small businesses to terminate their
operations.

Majority of the comments received from small business (48/53 or ~ 91%) stated that there will be no indirect
adverse economic impact and there would be insignificant (1/53 or ~2%) indirect beneficial economic impact.
A few small businesses did state a concern that there are already too many obstacles to starting a new
business, doing business in Nevada, and the increase in exam fees will just add additional burden.

(d) A description of the methods that the agency considered to reduce the impact of the proposed regulation on
small businesses and a statement regarding whether the agency actually used any of those methods.

NFID has provided ample opportunity for the public and the regulated industries to provide input and comments
regarding the proposed regulation amendments, including the economic impact the proposed regulation
amendments may have on small business. No modifications to the proposed regulation amendments have been
made as a result of this small business impact input. A workshop will be held on July 8, 2016 allowing for further
input by licensees and the public regarding the proposed regulation amendments and how they will impact the
regulated industry. These comments will be taken to consideration for further revisions to the proposed regulation
amendments to reduce the economic impact. NFID has received a total of 80 responses (12% response rate; 80/664)
to the small business impact solicitation sent to licensees and all interested parties. NFID has considered and
analyzed all submitted comments as detailed above.



(e) The estimated cost to the agency for enforcement of the proposed regulation amendments,
There is no estimated cost to the Financial Institutions Division for enforcement of the proposed regulation
amendments.

(f) If the proposed regulation provides a new fee or increases an existing fee, the total annual amount the agency
expects to collect, and the manner in which the money will be used.

In order to equitably balance the Depository Assessment and the Non-Depository Examination Fees based on
utilization of FID resources, it is being proposed to revise all applicable regulations to reflect a standardized per hour
examination fee of $75.00.

The proposed amendments provide for a reasonable hourly fee to equitably cover only actual costs of NEID
operations. The total additional amount NFID expects to collect from non-depository companies that utilized 71.5%
of the Division resources based on the recent data for examinations (2016 data) is approximately $245,000 per year.
However, there will be a commensurate reduction to the assessment for depository institutions that only utilize
28.5% of Division resources. The exanimation fees collected will be used by NFID to regulate the financial industries
at the most economical and equitable method possible with the Division’s established objective to maintain all fees
at the lowest level possible to cover only agency costs to license, examine and supervise, and not to over burden
small business with high and unnecessary fees.

(g) If the proposed regulation includes provisions which duplicate or are more stringent than federal, state, or local
standards regulating the same activity, an explanation of why such duplicative or more stringent provisions are
necessary.

To our knowledge the proposed regulation amendments do not duplicate any existing federal, state, or local
standards regulating the same activity. There are a total of ten (10) NFID regulations that will be amended.

(h) The reasons for the conclusions of the agency regarding the impact of the regulation on small businesses,

The impact of the regulation amendments on small businesses is considered to be equitable given the current
expenditures of the FID approved by the Legislature, and the resource utilization by depository institutions that pay
an assessment based upon asset size and the resource utilization by non-depository companies that pay a per hour
examination fee.

To the best of my knowledge, the information contained in this Small Business Impact Statement was prepared
properly and accurate.

E. Burns

( icwﬂssioner
X



LCB FILE No. R054-16



PROPOSED REGULATION OF THE
COMMISSIONER OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
LCB File No. R054-16

May 3, 2016

EXPLANATION — Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets |esstted-matesial| is material to be omitted

AUTHORITY: §1, NRS 604A.300 and 604A.740; §2, NRS 649.053, 649.295 and 658.101; §3,
NRS 658.096, 658.101 and 658.105; §4, NRS 658.101, 669.250 and 669.270; §5,
NRS 658.101, 671.030 and 671.120; §6, NRS 658.101, 673.043 and 673.430; §7,
NRS 658.101, 675.170 and 675.400; §8, NRS 676A.730; §9, NRS 658.101,
677.380 and 677.430; §10, NRS 678.250 and 678.270.

A REGULATION relating to financial institutions: revising the hourly fees paid by banks and
other financial institutions to the Commissioner of Financial [nstitutions; revising the
method of calculation of an annual fee collected by the Commissioner from certain
depository institutions; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

Legislative Counsel’s Digest:

Existing law authorizes the Commissioner of Financial Institutions to establish by
regulation rates and fees to be paid by banks and other financial institutions for supervision and
examinations by the Commissioner or the Division of Financial Institutions of the Department of
Business and Industry. (NRS 658.101, 676A.730, 678.270) Sections 1-7, 9 and 10 of this
regulation increase the hourly fees previously set by the Commissioner for an audit, examination,
investigation or hearing conducted by the Division of such banks and other financial institutions
to $75 per hour. Section 8 of this regulation: (1) decreases the hourly fee for such an
examination of a registered provider of debt-management services from $100 to $75; and 2)
prescribes the hourly rate of $75 for the fees for any such audit, investigation or hearing of a
registered provider of debt-management services conducted pursuant to the statutory provisions
governing debt-management services.

Pursuant to Assembly Bill No. 493 of the 2003 Legislative Session, the Division
generally began operating as a self-funding Division rather than pursuant to appropriations from
the State General Fund. (Chapter 491, Statutes of Nevada 2003, at page 3225; NRS 658.091,
658.098) Sections 3, 6, 9 and 10 of this regulation revise existing regulations to: (1) comport
with that statutory change; (2) revise the method of calculation of the annual fee for supervision
and examinations collected by the Commissioner from banks, savings and loan associations,
thrift companies and credit unions; and (3) prescribe the base amount and any amount exceeding
that base amount for a bank, savings and loan association, thrift company or credit union whose
total assets are $20 billion or more.

-
LCB Draft of Proposed Regulation R054-16



Section 1. NAC 604A.090 is hereby amended to read as follows:

604A.090 1. The nonrefundable application fee required pursuant to NRS 604A.600 is
$400 plus $100 for each additional license for a branch location at which the applicant proposes
to operate under the applicant’s license.

2. The additional application fee required pursuant to NRS 604A.600 is $375 plus $75 for
each additional license for a branch location at which the applicant proposes to operate under his
or her license. The Commissioner may refund the fee on a prorated basis if:

(a) An applicant withdraws his or her application before the Commissioner acts on the
application;

(b) The Commissioner deems an application to be withdrawn because the applicant fails to
submit all information and fees required to complete the application within the period set forth in
NRS 604A.600; or

(c) A licensee surrenders his or her license pursuant to NRS 604A.840 during the licensee’s
first year of licensure.

3. The fee to renew a license required pursuant to NRS 604A.640 is $375 plus $75 for each
branch location at which the licensee is authorized to operate under the license.

4. The fee for reinstatement of an expired license as set forth in NRS 604A.640 is $150 plus
$50 for each branch location at which the licensee is authorized to operate under the license.

5. The hourly fee authorized in NRS 604A.740 for supervision, audit, examination,
investigation or hearing is {$66-} $75.

6. The late fee for each day a licensee fails to submit a report required pursuant to the

provisions of chapter 604A of NRS, as set forth in NRS 604A.760. is $10.

o
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7. The Commissioner shall bill each licensee for any fee or assessment imposed pursuant to
the provisions of this chapter and chapter 604A of NRS. The licensee shall pay the fee within 30
days after the date the licensee receives the bill. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection,
any payment received after the date due must include a penalty of 10 percent of the fee, plus an
additional 1 percent of the fee for each month, or portion of a month, that the fee is not paid. The
Commissioner may waive the penalty for good cause.

Sec. 2. NAC 649.060 is hereby amended to read as follows:

649.060 1. The Commissioner of Financial Institutions will charge and collect a fee of
{$60} 75 per hour from each collection agency for any supervision, examination, audit,
investigation or hearing conducted pursuant to chapter 649 of NRS.

2. The Commissioner will bill each collection agency upon the completion of the activity
for the fee established in subsection 1. The fee must be paid within 30 days after the date on
which the bill is received. In addition to any other fee allowed by this chapter or chapter 649 of
NRS, and except as otherwise provided in this subsection, any payment received after that date
must include a penalty of 10 percent of the fee plus an additional 1 percent of the fee for each
month, or portion of a month, that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty
for good cause.

3. Failure of a collection agency to pay the fee required in subsection 1 as provided in this
section constitutes grounds for revocation of its license.

Sec. 3. NAC 658.010 is hereby amended to read as follows:

658.010 1. On or before June 30 of each year, the Commissioner of Financial Institutions
will collect a fee from each bank for the supervision and examination of the bank pursuant to

chapters 657 to 668, inclusive, of NRS.
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2. The fee is based on the portion of the annual

to} budget approved by the Legislature for expenses related to the operations of the

Commissioner and the Division of Financial Institutions

and-examination-of-banks} minus all other revenues collected by the Division, not including

reserves. Each bank shall pay a share of that amount as determined by the following schedule:

Total Assets Base Fee + Fee Exceeding Base
Less than $5,000,000 $5,000 N/A
$5,000,000 or more, but less 5,000 $.25 per thousand of assets
than $10,000,000 exceeding $5,000,000
$10,000,000 or more, but 6,250 $.19 per thousand of assets
less than $50,000,000 exceeding $10.000.000
$50,000,000 or more, but 13,850 $.12 per thousand of assets
less than $100,000,000 exceeding $50,000,000
$100.000,000 or more, but 19,850 $.10 per thousand of assets
less than $500,000,000 exceeding $100,000,000

B, o
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$500,000,000 or more, but

less than $1,000,000,000

$1,000,000,000 or more, but

less than $3,000,000,000

$3,000,000,000 or more, but

less than $10,000,000,000

$10,000,000,000 or more,

but less than

$20,000,000,000

$20,000,000,000 or more

Any adjustment to the fee +

59,850

94,850

194,850

404,850

604,850

$.07 per thousand of assets

exceeding $500,000,000

$.05 per thousand of assets

exceeding $1,000,000,000

$.03 per thousand of assets

exceeding $3,000,000,000

$.02 per thousand of assets

exceeding $10,000,000,000

$.01 per thousand of assets

exceeding $20,000,000,000

must be made in a

proportionate amount that is based on the relationship that the fee determined for each bank

[=

bears to the total fee imposed on all banks licensed pursuant to

chapters 657 to 668, inclusive, of NRS. The fee is calculated as of June 1 of each year based

upon the number of banks and the total assets of each bank as of December 31 of the previous

year.

e 1
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3. Ifthe fee is not paid on or before June 30, the Commissioner will assess a penalty of 10
percent of the amount of the fee and an additional 1 percent of the fee for each month or portion
of a month that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty for good cause.

4. The fee does not include the cost of any extraordinary examination, audit, investigation or
hearing conducted by the Division. The cost of any such examination, audit, investigation or
hearing is {5664 875 per hour.

Sec. 4. NAC 669.010 is hereby amended to read as follows:

669.010 1. The Commissioner of Financial Institutions will charge and collect a fee of
{566} 875 per hour from each trust company for any supervision, examination, audit,
investigation or hearing conducted pursuant to chapter 669 of NRS.

2. The Commissioner will bill each trust company upon the completion of the activity for
the fee established in subsection 1. The fee must be paid within 30 days after the date the bill is
received. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, any payment received after that date
must include a penalty of 10 percent of the fee plus an additional 1 percent of the fee for each
month. or portion of a month, that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty
for good cause.

3. Failure of a trust company to pay the fee required in subsection 1 as provided in this
section constitutes grounds for revocation of its license.

Sec. 5. NAC 671.010 is hereby amended to read as follows:

671.010 1. The Commissioner will charge and collect a fee of {536} $75 per hour from
each licensee for any supervision, examination, audit, investigation or hearing conducted

pursuant to chapter 671 of NRS.

s
LCB Draft of Proposed Regulation R054-16



2. The Commissioner will bill each licensee upon the completion of the activity for the fee
established in subsection 1. The fee must be paid within 30 days after the date the bill is
received. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, any payment received after that date
must include a penalty of 10 percent of the fee plus an additional 1 percent of the fee for each
month, or portion of a month, that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty
for good cause.

3. Failure of a licensee to pay the fee required in subsection 1 as provided in this section
constitutes grounds for revocation of its license.

Sec. 6. NAC 673.020 is hereby amended to read as follows:

673.020 1. On or before June 30 of each year, the Commissioner of Financial Institutions
will collect a fee from each savings and loan association for the supervision and examination of
the savings and loan association pursuant to chapter 673 of NRS.

2. The fee is based on the portion of the annual fappropriationfronm the State General-Fund
tot budget approved by the Legislature for expenses related to the operations of the

Commissioner and the Division of Financial Institutions

=t minus all other revenues collected by the

Division, not including reserves. Each savings and loan association shall pay a share of that

amount as determined by the following schedule:

Total Assets Base Fee + Fee Exceeding Base
Less than $5,000,000 $5.000 N/A
oL i
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$5,000,000 or more, but

less than $10,000,000

$10,000,000 or more, but

less than $50,000,000

$50,000,000 or more, but

less than $100,000,000

$100,000,000 or more, but

less than $500,000,000

$500,000,000 or more, but

less than $1,000,000,000

$1,000,000,000 or more, but

less than $3,000,000,000

5,000

6,250

13,850

19,850

59,850

94,850

g

$.25 per thousand of

assets exceeding

$5,000,000

$.19 per thousand of
assets exceeding

$10,000,000

$.12 per thousand of
assets exceeding

$50,000,000

$.10 per thousand of
assets exceeding

$100.000,000

$.07 per thousand of

assets exceeding

$500,000,000

$.05 per thousand of

assets exceeding

$1,000,000,000
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$3,000,000,000 or more, 194,850 $.03 per thousand of

but less than assets exceeding
$10,000,000,000 $3,000,000,000
$10,000,000,000 or more, 404,850 $.02 per thousand of

but less than assets exceeding
$20,000,000,000 $10,000,000,000
$20,000,000,000 or more 604,850 .01 per thousand of assets

exceeding $20,000,000,000

Any adjustment to the fee {=

must be made in a

proportionate amount that is based on the relationship that the fee determined for each savings

and loan association -} bears to the total fee imposed on all savings and

=

loan associations licensed pursuant to chapter 673 of NRS. The fee is calculated as of June I of
each year based upon the number of savings and loan associations and the total assets of each
savings and loan association as of December 31 of the previous year.

3. If the fee is not paid on or before June 30, the Commissioner will assess a penalty of 10
percent of the amount of the fee and an additional 1 percent of the fee for each month or portion

of a month that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty for good cause.

=0z
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4. The fee does not include the cost of any extraordinary examination, audit, investigation or
hearing conducted by the Division. The cost of any such examination, audit, investigation or
hearing is {566} §75 per hour.

Sec. 7. NAC 675.080 is hereby amended to read as follows:

675.080 1. The Commissioner of Financial Institutions will charge and collect a fee of
{536} 875 per hour from each installment loan company for any supervision, examination, audit,
investigation or hearing conducted pursuant to chapter 675 of NRS.

2. The Commissioner will bill each installment loan company upon the completion of the
activity for the fee established in subsection 1. The fee must be paid within 30 days after the date
the bill is received. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, any payment received after
that date must include a penalty of 10 percent of the fee plus an additional 1 percent of the fee for
each month, or portion of a month, that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the
penalty for good cause.

3. Failure of an installment loan company to pay the fee required by subsection 1 as
provided in this section constitutes grounds for revocation of its license.

Sec. 8. NAC 676A.260 is hereby amended to read as follows:

676A.260 1. The Commissioner will charge and collect a fee of {$186} $75 per hour from
each registered provider for any examination , audit, investigation or hearing of the registered
provider conducted pursuant to chapter 676A of NRS.

2. The Commissioner will bill each registered provider upon the completion of the activity
for the fee established in subsection 1. The fee must be paid within 30 days after the date the bill
is received. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, any payment received after that date

must include a penalty of 10 percent of the fee plus an additional 10 percent of the fee for each

o]0
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month, or portion of a month, that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty
for good cause.

3. Failure of a registered provider to pay the fee required in subsection 1 as provided in this
section constitutes grounds for revocation of the registration of the provider.

Sec. 9. NAC 677.310 is hereby amended to read as follows:

677.310 1. On or before June 30 of each year, the Commissioner of Financial Institutions
will collect a fee from each thrift company for the supervision and examination of the thrift
company pursuant to chapter 677 of NRS.

2. The fee is based on the portion of the annual {appropriationfrom the State General-Fund
to} budget approved by the Legislature for expenses related to the operations of the

Commissioner and the Division of Financial Institutions

and-examination-of thrift companies} minus all other revenues collected by the Division, not
including reserves. Each thrift company shall pay a share of that amount as determined by the

following schedule:

Total Assets Base Fee + Fee Exceeding Base
Less than $5,000,000 $5,000 N/A
$5.000,000 or more, but 5,000 $.25 per thousand of
less than $10,000,000 assets exceeding

$5,000,000

a] Y
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$10,000,000 or more, but

less than $50,000,000

$50,000,000 or more, but

less than $100,000,000

$£100,000,000 or more, but

less than $500,000,000

$500,000,000 or more, but

less than $1,000,000,000

$1,000,000,000 or more, but

less than $3,000,000,000

$3.000,000,000 or more,

but less than

6.250

13.850

19,850

59,850

94.850

194,850

T b

$.19 per thousand of
assets exceeding

$10,000,000

$.12 per thousand of
assets exceeding

$50,000,000

$.10 per thousand of
assets exceeding

$100,000,000

$.07 per thousand of

assets exceeding

$500.000,000

$.05 per thousand of

assets exceeding

$1,000,000,000

$.03 per thousand of

assets exceeding
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$10,000,000,000 $3.,000,000,000

$10,000,000,000 or more, 404,850 $.02 per thousand of

but less than assets exceeding
$20,000,000,000 $10,000,000,000
$20,000,000,000 or more 604,850 $.01 per thousand of assets

exceeding $20,000,000,000

Any adjustment to the fee jreguired-to-accounttor-the-di

must be made in a

proportionate amount that is based on the relationship that the fee determined for each thrift
company {purstant-to-paragraph-taj} bears to the total fee imposed on all thrift companies
licensed pursuant to chapter 677 of NRS. The fee is calculated as of June 1 of each year based
upon the number of thrift companies and the total assets of each thrift company as of
December 31 of the previous year.

3. If the fee is not paid on or before June 30, the Commissioner will assess a penalty of 10
percent of the amount of the fee and an additional 1 percent of the fee for each month or portion
of a month that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty for good cause.

4. The fee does not include the cost of any extraordinary examination, audit, investigation or
hearing conducted by the Division. The cost of any such examination, audit, investigation or
hearing is {$66} $75 per hour.

Sec. 10. NAC 678.150 is hereby amended to read as follows:

2
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678.150 1. On or before June 30 of each year, the Commissioner will collect a fee from

each credit union for the supervision and examination of the credit union pursuant to chapter 678

of NRS.

2. The fee is based on the portion of the annual

to} budget approved by the Legislature for expenses related to the operations of the

Commissioner and the Division

wiionst minus all other revenues collected by the Division, not including reserves. Each credit

union shall pay a share of that amount as determined by the following schedule:

Total Assets

Less than $5,000,000

$5,000,000 or more, but

less than $10,000,000

$10,000,000 or more, but

less than $50,000,000

$50,000,000 or more, but

less than $100,000,000

Base Fee + Fee Exceeding Base
$5.000 N/A
5,000 $.25 per thousand of assets

exceeding $5,000,000

6,250 $.19 per thousand of assets
exceeding $10.000,000
13,850 $.12 per thousand of assets
exceeding $50,000,000
14
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$100,000,000 or more, but

less than $500,000,000

$500,000,000 or more, hut

less than $1,000,000,000

$1,000,000,000 or more,
but less than

$3,000,000,000

$3.000,000,000 or more,
but less than

$10,000,000,000

$10.000,000,000 or more,
but less than

$20,000,000,000

$20,000,000,000 or more

19,850 $.10 per thousand of assets

exceeding $100,000,000
59,850 $.07 per thousand of assets

exceeding $500,000,000
94.850 $.05 per thousand of assets

exceeding $1,000,000,000

194,850 $.03 per thousand of assets

exceeding $3,000,000,000

404,850 $.02 per thousand of assets

exceeding $10,000,000,000

604,850 8.01 per thousand of assets

exceeding $20,000,000,000
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Any adjustment to the fee

must be made in a

proportionate amount that is based on the relationship that the fee determined for each credit
union {pursuant-to-this-subseetion} bears to the total fee imposed on all credit unions licensed
pursuant to chapter 678 of NRS. The fee is calculated as of June 1 of each year based upon the
number of credit unions and the total assets of each credit union as of December 31 of the
previous year.

3. Ifthe fee is not paid on or before June 30, the Commissioner will assess a penalty of 10
percent of the amount of the fee and an additional 1 percent of the fee for each month or portion
of a month that the fee is not paid. The Commissioner may waive the penalty for good cause.

4. The fee does not include the cost of any extraordinary examination, audit, investigation or
hearing conducted by the Division. The cost of any such examination, audit, investigation or

hearing is {$66} $75 per hour.
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